Google Maps: Location Sharing📍

Google Location Sharing2.gifNEW: Google Maps Location Sharing, available to those with and those without Google accounts, enables you broadcast your location to those you choose.

Used in connection with  Maps’ Directions feature (aka, Drive mode) you can automatically send updated ETA information, so loved shared ones will know whether you’re stuck in traffic or have dropped into the pub for a pint.

Share your location with other Google account users…

  1. On your phone or tablet, open the Google Maps app Google Maps.
  2. Tap Menu Menu and then Share location and then Add People Add people.
  3. Tap Select People.
  4. Choose who you want to share with and for how long.
  5. Tap Share.
..or with those that do not have a Google Account
  1. On phone or tablet, open the Google Maps app Google Maps.
  2. Tap Menu Menu and then Share location.
  3. Tap More More and then Copy to clipboard.
  4. Using preferred messaging or mail app, paste link and send to intended recipients.

To stop sharing your location

  1. Open the Google Maps app Google Maps.
  2. Tap Menu Menu and then Share location.
  3. Tap Remove next to shared person to Remove.

To share your ETA

After you start your drive, you can share your destination, estimated arrival time, and where you are on the route.

  1. Open the Google Maps app Google Maps.
  2. Set a driving destination.
  3. After you start navigation, tap More and then Share trip progress.
  4. Choose a person from the list.
  5. Tap Share.

Location Sharing will stop when you reach your destination or stop navigating. To stop sharing before you arrive, tap More  and then Stop sharing.

See where someone is

If someone shares their location with you, you can see them on the map.

  1. Open the Google Maps app Google Maps.
  2. Tap Menu Menu and then ​Share location. Location sharers will appear as icons.
  3. Select person; the map will adjust to display their location.

Stop seeing someone’s location

  1. Open the Google Maps app Google Maps.
  2. On the map, tap sharer’s icon.
  3. At the bottom, tap More Up arrow.
  4. To temporarily hide someone, tap Hide from map.

Cheers!

hɔuᴉnb

Related posts:

 

Advertisements

Author: quincy harley jr

Quincy is a technophile, coach and Learning Development expert. He has an extensive legal IT background and is practiced in MS Office application support and product development. As a project leader he has been integral in numerous new application rollouts. Whatever spare time he has, is spent with reading, archery and watching his young sons grow.

2 thoughts on “Google Maps: Location Sharing📍”

  1. So wait – I’m a loved – scratch that – shared one?

    Oh Q. The East Coast will forever miss your wit.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s