Google asks, ‘Shall we play a game?’ with hidden Chrome adventure

intro_text adventure.gif

Wanna sleuth your way around a tech giant’s Mountainview campus? Google has embedded this retro text adventure game and all you need is a web browser (and infinite patience) to play.

To launch Google’s text adventure game

  1. Launch your Chrome, Firefox or Edge browser.
  2. Search for ‘text adventure’.
  3. RIGHT+CLICK on the results page and select Inspect
  4. CLICK the Console tab.  The text “Would you like to play a game?” appears.
  5. Enter ‘yes’ at the > prompt

Cheers (with special thanks, to Di, for passing this along)!

quincy
Related Posts:

Group Planning with Google Maps

Google Location Voting

Planning a group outing just got easier.

As part of a recent mobile update you are now able to share a list of places (e.g., restaurants) with your friends and they can vote their preferred meeting place. This should cut down on the volume of email/sms traffic it takes for a group to pick a watering hole.

Just create a list, then share it; your friends will be taken right to Google Maps mobile, where they will be able to cast their vote 👍👎 on proposed venues. They can even add additional locations to the decision matrix.

Cheers!

quincy

Related Posts:

Google Maps Goes Round (‘n round, n round..)

Take that, Kyrie Irving!…

MapsGlobe.gif

Perhaps in a bid to win over Flat-Earthers, when zoomed out in Google Maps, you’ll see a round Earth instead of a flat map.

Cheers!
quincy
Related Posts:

View Your friend’s battery status with Google Maps’ location sharing

Because Sharing is Caring!…google-maps-battery

Google Map’s Location Sharing just received an update that allows you to view your location sharer’s battery status.

Why? Well, if your friend’s battery goes dead, the phone, and it’s location information, is sure to follow. At least, armed with this foreknowledge, you’ll know why they went off the grid and not take it personally.

Cheers!

quincy

Related Posts:

Google Maps: Location Sharing📍

Google Location Sharing2.gifNEW: Google Maps Location Sharing, available to those with and those without Google accounts, enables you broadcast your location to those you choose.

Used in connection with  Maps’ Directions feature (aka, Drive mode) you can automatically send updated ETA information, so loved shared ones will know whether you’re stuck in traffic or have dropped into the pub for a pint.

Share your location with other Google account users…

  1. On your phone or tablet, open the Google Maps app Google Maps.
  2. Tap Menu Menu and then Share location and then Add People Add people.
  3. Tap Select People.
  4. Choose who you want to share with and for how long.
  5. Tap Share.
..or with those that do not have a Google Account
  1. On phone or tablet, open the Google Maps app Google Maps.
  2. Tap Menu Menu and then Share location.
  3. Tap More More and then Copy to clipboard.
  4. Using preferred messaging or mail app, paste link and send to intended recipients.

To stop sharing your location

  1. Open the Google Maps app Google Maps.
  2. Tap Menu Menu and then Share location.
  3. Tap Remove next to shared person to Remove.

To share your ETA

After you start your drive, you can share your destination, estimated arrival time, and where you are on the route.

  1. Open the Google Maps app Google Maps.
  2. Set a driving destination.
  3. After you start navigation, tap More and then Share trip progress.
  4. Choose a person from the list.
  5. Tap Share.

Location Sharing will stop when you reach your destination or stop navigating. To stop sharing before you arrive, tap More  and then Stop sharing.

See where someone is

If someone shares their location with you, you can see them on the map.

  1. Open the Google Maps app Google Maps.
  2. Tap Menu Menu and thenShare location. Location sharers will appear as icons.
  3. Select person; the map will adjust to display their location.

Stop seeing someone’s location

  1. Open the Google Maps app Google Maps.
  2. On the map, tap sharer’s icon.
  3. At the bottom, tap More Up arrow.
  4. To temporarily hide someone, tap Hide from map.

Cheers!

hɔuᴉnb

Related posts: